Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences - Department of Physics

Prof. Jan Plefka elected to the Senate of the DFG

The General Assembly of the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG) elected on the 7th of July four new members to the Senate of the largest research funding organization and central self-governing body of science in Germany at its meeting during the virtual DFG Annual Meeting today. Five Senate members were elected for a further term of office. The Senate is the central scientific body that discusses and decides on all DFG matters of major importance, unless they are reserved for the Joint Committee.

The Senate has a total of 39 members. Of these, 36 are elected by the General Assembly; they are also the scientific members of the Joint Committee.

Jan Plefka, who is a professor at the physics department of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and IRIS Adlershof, was elected for the field of theoretical physics. He has already been a member of the Senate Committee for DFG Collaborative Research Centers since 2016.

We congratulate Jan Plefka warmly and wish him much joy and success in this new area of responsibility!