Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences - Physics of Macromolecules

Moungi G. Bawendi (MIT): 2023 Nobel Prize lecture in chemistry

Moungi G. Bawendi, Louis E. Brus and Aleksey Yekimov are awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2023 "for the discovery and synthesis of quantum dots". The Noble Prize lectures will take place on december 8, 11:20 - 13:10 h.

In our group, we have benefited greatly from their fundamental research in a number of our projects, and we take this opportunity to congratulate them warmly!

Here comes a list of publications that would not have been possible without the groundbreaking work on nano-particles of the laureates:

Nanotubular J-aggregates and quantum dots coupled for efficient resonance excitation energy transfer
Qiao Y, Polzer F, Kirmse H, Steeg E, Kühn S, Friede S, Kirstein S, Rabe JP
ACS Nano, 2015, 9(2):1552-1560.

In situ synthesis of semiconductor nanocrystals at the surface of tubular J-aggregates
Qiao Y, Polzer F, Kirmse H, Steeg E, Kirstein S, Rabe JP
Journal of Materials Chemistry C, 2014, 2(43):9141-9148.

Utilizing redox-chemistry to elucidate the nature of exciton transitions in supramolecular dye nanotubes
Eisele D, Cone C, Bloemsma E, Vlaming S, Van Der Kwaak C, Silbey R, Bawendi M, Knoester J, Rabe JP, Vanden Bout D
Nature Chemistry, 2012, 4(8):655-662.

Hybrid photovoltaic cells with II-VI quantum dot sensitizers fabricated by layer-by-layer deposition of water-soluble components
Kniprath R, Rabe JP, McLeskey Jr. J, Wang D, Kirstein S
Thin Solid Films, 2009, 518(1):295-298.